You are here

MSAP Grant Information

The Magnet Schools Assistance Program (MSAP) is a highly competitive grant funded by the United States Department of Education that is made available to school districts around the nation that use magnet schools to reduce, eliminate or prevent minority group isolation in schools. The magnet program must be designed to bring together students from different social, economic, ethnic, and racial backgrounds.

Duval County Public Schools is fortunate to be a recipient of this award for the last three funding cycles. For 2004-2007, the District received over $9 million to develop seven (7) new magnet programs that were known as the Inspirations Magnet Schools; in 2007-2010 the District received over $10 million to develop ten (10) new magnet programs that are known as the Dreams Begin Here Magnet Schools; and in 2010-2013 the District received $12 million for eight (8) Dreams Begin Here: The Next Generation Magnet Schools. These 25 programs are now a part of the magnet program offerings included in this website!

The Dreams Begin Here: The Next Generation Magnet Schools are as follows:

School Magnet Theme
Mayport Elementary School  Coastal Sciences
Mayport Middle School Coastal Sciences
Woodland Acres Elementary School  Medical Arts
Carter G. Woodson Elementary School  Medical Arts
Spring Park Elementary School International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (PYP)
Southside Middle School International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (MYP)
Ribault Middle School Early High School
Ortega Elementary School Museum Studies


Transportation patterns for Dreams Begin Here: The Next Generation Schools:

(School transportation provided to students who reside in these attendance areas)

Magnet School Attendance Areas
Mayport Elementary School R. L. Brown, John Love, Long Branch
Woodland Acres Elementary School Abbess Park, Arlington, Don Brewer, Brookview, Fort Caroline, Holiday Hill, Kernan Trail, Lake Lucina, Lone Star, Love Grove, Merrill Road, Parkwood Heights, Sabal Palm, Southside Estates, Windy Hill
Carter G. Woodson Elementary School  Chaffee Trail, Crystal Springs, Thomas Jefferson, Whitehouse
Spring Park Elementary School Bartram Springs, Beauclerc, Crown Point, Greenfield, Greenland Pines, Hendricks Avenue, Hogan-Spring Glen, Loretto, Mandarin Oaks, Twin Lakes
Southside Middle School Matthew Gilbert, North Shore
Ribault Middle School Arlington, Fletcher, Kernan, Landmark, Twin Lakes

NOTE: Ortega Elementary will continue the current transportation system serving Zone 5 schools  and Mayport Middle will continue to follow the Coastal Transportation Plan (CTP) listed in the School Choice Reference Guide.